Highs of the week #3

Highs of the week #3

So last week I was struck down with the common cold. It seems everyone on my morning commute is sneezing, coughing and spreading around their germs. It’s really hard to recover from an illness in London compared to when I lived in the North. I should have added that to my most recent article for Metro Online.

So it seems there is a bit of a theme to my highs this week. There’s a few things that have been making me feel and look much better (you just look vile when you’re ill don’t you?) three things to make my home cosier, a little treat to brighten up my daily commute and a furry bundle of joy who has been giving me lots of hugs and kisses this week…

I am loving the new addition to the Morris family (my boyfriend’s family). Meet Dave!! He is a Chihuahua X Maltese and is just a few months old. He has two older sisters, Maggie and Winnie who I must have mentioned in my blog already. He is already bossing everyone around and whenever I pop round to Joe’s family home he makes me laugh. He is adorable!! Me and Joe both love dogs and would love a puppy as soon as we can, but with our jobs both in London and being out the house the majority of the day it looks like it will be a while until we can get one. For now I love being an auntie to Maggie, Winnie and of course baby Dave.

I’ve bought the Mark Hill Pro-Magic Hair Wand which I am slowing getting the hang of. I had my hair cut short last week by Joe’s sister and she blowed dried it with loose waves which I loved. I’m hoping this wand will give me the same effect! I’ve used it just the once and after several attempts I got lovely bouncy curls so I’m hoping I will use them lots during the Christmas party period. These are actually really expensive but they are currently half price in Boots. Go go go!

I’m currently carrying around ‘The Little Book of Mindfulness’ by Tiddy Rowan everywhere with me and reading it lots during my commute. I’m not religious or particularly spiritual but I’ve become really interested in mindfulness over the last year or so and can now really appreciate the idea of taking a few minutes out of your day from time to time. I would recommend it to anyone, it’s not as wishy washy as everyone thinks, I promise.

I’m wearing the Boots Botanics skincare range on my skin at the moment. My sister uses it and I always borrow/steal her products whenever I stay over at hers. The Ultra Calm Night Cream contains calming marshmallow which just sounds delicious doesn’t it? And I have to say it is a delightful product that I actually to prefer to the high end products I’ve used in the past. It’s up there with Clarins Super Restorative Night Wear Cream and just a fraction of the cost. I’ve more recently purchased the Botanics Soothing Eye Make-up Remover and it did not disappoint. It reminds me of the Lancome Bi Facial Eye Make-Up Remover as you have to shake the product before using to mix the formula and it does have that greasy texture I like in eye-make up remover. It removes every scrap of eye-makeup and you just need to use tiny bit of the product. I love it. Oh and it costs just £1.99!!

Finally, I am loving my new collection of Christmas candles from The Country Candle Company. The packaging is beautiful and I can’t wait to place them on my mantlepiece as part of my festive decorations. Sparkling Spice is my favourite, it’s similar to the NOEL range from Crabtree and Evelyn and the scent reminds me of my home in Sheffield. Ritz is a super warm fuzzy scent and the Sea Salted Fig candle is very clean and fresh smelling. Yum! (Perfect Christmas gift ideas by the way).

Have a good week everyone x

 

Leave a Reply

