Christmas gift guide: 20 gorgeous gifts all under £20

Gift Guide

With Christmas just around the corner now is the time to pick up those last minute treats, or manically rush round buying presents if you haven’t started shopping yet! All the gifts below are my personal recommendations, I’ve tried and tested the lot, some have been sent to me especially for maryoliviahickey.com, some I’ve bought myself as a December treat and some are a preview of the gifts I’ll be handing out to friends and family on December 25th.

All the gifts are £20 and under, perfect for family members, girlfriends and Secret Santas. Many of the treats are below £10 and perfect for stocking fillers.

Happy buying!

1. Clinique ‘Makeup Brush Cleanser’
Perfect for beauty lovers, this Clinique Makeup Brush Cleanser is the ideal way to wash a collection of makeup brushes. This is one of those gifts that any beauty lover will adore and probably not already own. I find buying makeup for someone else is always risky as it’s a very personal thing, this is the perfect alternative.
£13.00

2. Beauticology ‘Creamy Marshmallow Frosting Foot Lotion’
The Beauitcology collection from Baylis & Harding is a more affordable and fun alternative to the mother brand. Despite the lower cost, this range doesn’t lack in quality. The Gingerbread Foot Lotion and cozy sock duo is the perfect gift for Christmas. Oh and smells good enough to eat.
£5.00 (Currently 1/3 off in Sainsburys!!)

3. Medina Tealight Holders – Set of 6
This set of 6 Medina Tealight Holders from Utility Design are perfect Christmas colours, the quality of the product is of a super high standard (they are very sturdy despite their delicate appearance) and they look perfect in a collection of six dressed on a mantlepiece or window sill, or dotted individually around the home. Any candle lover will love this gift, especially as they can pick their favourite tealight candles to accompany them.
£15.00

4. L’Oreal Paris ‘Color Riche Exclusive Reds Lipstick’
Well, hello there gorgeous red lip. Now, like many of my friends and family, I’m very much a novice with the whole bold lip look. This lipstick however, is safe choice as it’s such a classic colour and might just encourage someone to step out of their nude lip comfort zone. The entire L’Oreal Paris Color Riche Exclusive Reds Collection is dreamy, my favourite shade from the range is Julianne Moore’s despite the fact we have complete opposite skin tones!
£6.99

5. Liz Earle ‘Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser’
When it comes to skin care, I have heard nothing but rave reviews about the Liz Earle Cleanse collection from the beauty blogging world. This wee treat is especially for the Christmas gift season and is the perfect starter size for a girlfriend or female relative to experiment with.
£9.00

Gift Guide

6. the little book of mind-fullness by Tiddy Rowan
I bought this little book for myself a few weeks ago from Oliver Bonas. I’ve been carrying it around ever since and often read a few pages during my hellish daily commute. It’s the perfect gift for anyone who likes spiritual books, yoga, pilates oh and green tea, you know we all have one of those friends. It’s also got a gorgeous cover and will super chic on any book shelf.
£4.49

7. Paperchase Memo Notes
Who doesn’t love stationary? If you read my blog you’ll know that I rate Paperchase higher that Topshop. A gorgeous gift for anyone who works from home or doesn’t have a clear desk policy at work. This particular one is currently sold out in store but there’s a range of alternatives including this cactus loving treat.
Prices start at £3.00

8. Crabtree & Evelyn ‘Pomegranate, Argan & Grape-seed Ultra-Moisturising Hand Therapy’
An essential handbag item, this Crabtree & Evelyn Hand Therapy is beauiful on skin, smells divine and the vintage packing is oh so pretty. The Hand Therapy collection comes in a range of dreamy scents, my favourite is the Pomegranate, Argan & Grapeseed. The come in a range of sizes and prices. The 25g tube is perfect for a stocking.
£5.00

9. Yankee Candle ‘Christmas Memories’
I’m very late to the Yankee Candle craze, I’m still not a fan of all their scents, they’re a little too sweet for me, but I do love the Christmas range, particularly the reds, they just look so damn pretty don’t they? The miniature Yankee jars are super cute and the Christmas Memories scent is quite simply all the beautiful smells of Christmas in one candle. This scent includes notes of cinnamon, gingerbread and orange – heaven.
£7.99

10. Winter Tealights – Set of 30
I picked up these tea lights in Sainsbury’s last week, they smell delicious and have a much higher quality scent then their £3.00 price tag suggests. I dot tealights everywhere around my home, and even without burning them they give off the most heavenly aroma.  A lot of the higher end packs come in smaller quantities but I think you need at least 20 to get your moneys worth as tealights don’t last long. A gorgeous little gift that accompanied with the Medina Tea Light holders is still under £20.
£3.00

11. Soap & Glory ‘One Heck of a Blot’
Soap & Glory is quickly becoming one of my favourite makeup brands. I love the packaging, quality of the product and the cost, it is such good value. A few weeks ago I asked Twitter to recommend a translucent powder with lots of staying power, this was recommended and it’s fab. It doesn’t give any coverage or hide blemishes, but it does remove sheen and keeps foundation in place. A perfect stocking filler that will become a permanent feature in any makeup lover’s beauty bag.
£12.00

12. Sleek ‘Face Form’
The ideal gift for anyone who wants to get into contouring. A lot of contouring palettes are very very pricey so this is a great starter kit. I was recommended this product by a friend, who was actually told to buy it by a beautician who rates this higher than a very expensive brand. There is four tones to choose from, I would recommend buying a colour a little lighter than you normally would for a friend as this palette is quite dark.
£10.00

IMG_5169

13. Sleek ‘Brow Kit’
Another little gem from Sleek, this product contains everything you need for perfect eyebrows, including a pair of mini tweezers (that are actually really good), a shaping wax, setting powder and two mini brushes. A great little product for gorgeous brows on the go.
£8.49

14. Country Candle ‘Superstars Collection Medium Vogue Jar’
Another beautiful candle from one of my favourite brands. The Superstars Collection is my favourite range of Christmas candles this year. Pretty packaging, gorgeous scents and they just look so beautiful on a mantlepiece or shelf. My favourite is Sparkling Spice, an ideal gift for any candle obsessive.
£15.99

15. Sanctuary ‘Luxury Bath Float’
I’ve used Sanctuary products for years. I love the fact you can buy them in Sainsbury’s and they are so reasonably priced. They smell heavenly and leave skin feeling soft & smooth for ages after using. My favourite product in the range is their Luxury Bath Float a great gift for anyone who loves a weekly pamper evening.
£10.00

16. Running Like A Girl by Alexandra Heminsley
A gift guide on maryoliviahickey.com wouldn’t be a gift guide with a couple of books thrown in. If you know anybody who has vowed to start running in 2015 this is the gift for them. This book is split into two parts, the first part is a very honest running diary from Alexandra who signed up for the London Marathon having never run a single mile. The second part gives advice on getting into running and keeping it up! It’s personal, hilarious and oh so inspiring.
£8.99

17. The Chimp Paradox by Professor Steve Peters
Another book on my gift guide is The Chimp Paradox by Professor Steve Peters. After a really strong bout of anxiety and stress earlier this year two of my best friends recommended this book to me. If you know someone who worries a lot and overthinks EVERYTHING then this book is perfect.
£12.99

18. Korres ‘Vanilla Cinnamon Body Milk’
This body milk is in my top five favourite pamper products of all time. I haven’t been using it for long, I picked it up in August whilst holidaying in Santorini. It is the most beautiful smelling product I have ever used. I didn’t think you could buy the Korres range in the UK but I spotted this product in Oliver Bonas a few weeks ago and now I see it everywhere. Vanilla and cinnamon are two of my favourite scents so combined it’s like heaven in a tube, it’s also jam packed with Shea butter, almond oil and active aloe so leaves skin soft and supple for days. Yes please!
£10.00 (Currently 20% off at Look Fantastic  – I’ll be buying in bulk!)

IMG_5167

19.Vogue 100 Iconic Covers Postcards
If you have a friend who is all about scattering photos and postcards around their home then they will LOVE this gift. The box of postcards looks beautiful enough on its own on and inside is 100 of Vogue magazine’s most iconic covers. Gorgeous.
£14.95

20. Oliver Bonas ‘Alphabet Makeup Bag’
My last gift on the Christmas guide is pretty little bag to store all those beauty products I’ve just mentioned. This is the perfect size for a handbag, yet it’s also roomy enough to store my daily must haves. I treated myself to the M makeup bag a few months ago. Perfect gift, especially if you cram it with some of the goodies mentioned above.
£12.50

Merry Christmas!

x

3 thoughts on “Christmas gift guide: 20 gorgeous gifts all under £20

Leave a Reply

