Beauty & Me: Favourite Face Masks

Beauty & Me: Favourite Face masks

I’m a big fan of face masks. I always have been, I have clear memories of being 10 and bringing 99p face masks to friend’s sleepovers and feeling super grown up. Those sugary ‘detox’ masks always dried out my 10 year old skin and did a lot more harm then good, but hey I felt super cool with a bright pink face mask and cucumber on my eyes.

Now that I’m older and that little bit wiser I now have a real understanding of my skin and what it needs. I have the definition of combination skin. My t-zone is oily, my cheeks are dry and my chin and jaw line is very prone to breakouts – lucky me.

I invest a lot of money and time into my skin, my mom has taught me that you only have one set of skin and therefore you should look after it and always consider what you put on it. I feel like I’ve finally nailed a good skin care routine, which I will share with y’all soon. A big part of my routine is a weekly face mask. I use up to two face masks a week, any more brings me out in more spots and as my skin is very sensitive I’m conscious of how much fiddling and fixing I do.

From face masks I need two things: A deep cleanse that unclogs pours and removes all that crap that builds up in the week. And hydration, although my skin is oily it often craves moisture, without hydration my skin can look very dull.

As with every aspect of my life I’m super organised even when it comes to pampering. I use face masks twice a week. At the end of my working week, and on a Sunday so my skin is ready for the week ahead.

Deep cleansing & unclogging:

On a Friday my skin is always in desperate need of a good gutting, I wear makeup to work and travel on the underground (aka the dirtiest place in London) I also do lots of exercise so my skin has lots of products, dirt and sweat to contend with and by Friday it’s often crying out for a good ol’ clean.

I’ve learnt the hard way that gritty exfoliants are a no no for my skin, they just take off the top of my blemishes causing more bacteria to get in them. So, for a good end of week clean I opt for a deep cleanse face mask which removes impurities without being too harsh. My favourites are both from the drugstore so super affordable.

Boots Botanics Ionic Clay Mask Shine Away
This is one of those face masks that does exactly what it says on the tin. It removes all my skin’s impurities and deeply cleanses my skin. It contains the bark of a Willow Tree, a natural source of salicylic acid which helps to refine the texture of my skin and targets blemishes. I like to apply this with my fingers, using the product all over my skin and neck, paying special attention to my t-zone and chin. It leaves my skin soft and clear and after a few weeks of using it I’ve definitely noticed a reduction in blemishes.

Tea Tree & Witch Hazel Peel Off Face Mask
Another great mask which removes impurities and unclogs pores. I LOVE peel of masks, they’re just so satisfying to take off and this one smells heavenly, a very fresh and detoxifying scent. I avoid using this one in the bath as it doesn’t set properly, so I often apply this and sit in front of the TV with a cuppa. I can always tell a big difference when I use this, my pores seemed tightened and theres always fewer blackheads. The small sachet make them perfect for travelling too.

Hydrating:

At the weekend I often don’t wear makeup, especially at the moment where I’m just exercising and onesie wearing. I have a bath every Sunday evening, it’s one of my favourite times of the week and sets me up for the working week ahead. Throughout the week my skin doesn’t get a lot of hydration from the products I use so Sunday nights are always about replenishing and boosting my thirsty skin. My favourite hydrating masks come from two of my favourite skin care brands, Clarins and Keihls.

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Overnight Hydrating Masque
The most amazing mask I have ever used. Simple. It’s the first time I’ve ever ventured into overnight masks and with this one I know I’ll never be able to go back. With this you apply a lot of product to the face and neck and leave for 10 minutes, the mask heats up, and what I really love about this product is the hotter the mask gets the more dehydrated your skin is. Therefore you can tell how thirsty your skin is, as the weeks go by it gets cooler and cooler so you can actually see that its working. After leaving the mask for 10 minutes I then remove the excess and head to bed leaving a thin layer of product on overnight to work it’s magic. Throughout the night my skin drinks this product up and I can really see and feel the difference in the morning. If you’re going to use one mask, use this.

Clarins HydraQuench Cream-Mask
Now I really do love Clarins products, but I’ve always been more of a fan of their body range. I’ve always thought their skin care range is more suitable for ahem, mature skin. But this Christmas I received a few goodies from their blue range and I couldn’t be more happy with the results. This mask is espeically for dehydrated skin so it’s perfect as a quick pick me up in the week or a Sunday night when I’m not using my Kiehls. I have a feeling I’ll be using this lots during the summer after a day in the sun. And of course with all Clarins products it smells heavenly.

Let me know your favourites x

One thought on “Beauty & Me: Favourite Face Masks

Leave a Reply

