Workout Of The Week: Half Marathon Training

unnamed-1

My first installment of Workout Of The Week is one that will probably feature a lot on my blog over the next 12 weeks. I’m currently training for the Sheffield Half Marathon and into week 2 of my schedule. It’s gruelling, time-consuming and often the last thing I want to do at 8pm in the evening 3 times a week.

However I know I have to train, I won’t be able to tackle the very hilly course on the 12th April without putting in the hours. I’m much more efficient when I’m doing something where a plan and schedule is involved, I love ticking things off a to-do-list, so using this training schedule from BUPA is really helping me. There is something very satisfying about going on a run, returning home to a onesie and a hot chocolate and ticking off another day of training.

I guess I do like to call myself a jogger, note I said jogger and not runner! I have two 10ks under my running belt and early last year I was running 2/3 times a week. However, I am a bit of a fair weather runner though so since November I haven’t really run at all and in the first few runs I could really feel it in my legs and chest. But with each run it is getting easier and more enjoyable.

I’m slowing getting my fitness back and running 3-4 miles 3 times a week and a longer run every Sunday. The nights are getting a wee bit lighter and I’m excited to get fitter and the challenge of my half marathon ahead. I’ve kitted myself out in some dreamy Nike running leggings and they honestly make me run harder and faster. I am experiencing the dreaded runner’s nipple, sore limbs and seriously windchapped lips but that feeling you get after you’ve finished a good o’l run that you kinda didn’t want to do but forced yourself to, it’s amazing. I’ve missed one day so far, I stayed indoors and ate pizza with my boyfriend instead, but I’m not gonna beat myself up about it because I knew I’d be back out running the next day, and anyway I needed the carbs!

I’ll keep y’all updated on my progress and would love to hear from anyone else who is training as well as tips and suggestions!

3 thoughts on “Workout Of The Week: Half Marathon Training

  1. Catherine says:

    I’m tackling my first 10K in May, the Great Manchester run. Started training late last year and completely dropped off over Christmas! Back into it the last few weeks. Alternate between outdoor runs and staying dry on the treadmill! Finally ran my first 5K without stopping to walk this week. For anyone who saw me do cross country at school – that is a big achievement!
    Only found your blog recently so it will be good to keep up with your progress as I (hopefully) make mine!

  2. Annie Orange says:

    I gave running/jogging a few tries, but it’s just not for me. I’m a longtime dancer and I’m scared running is too much and too heavy impact on my legs, and for some reason I like walking a lot more. I enjoyed to have an insight in the world of a runner though, best of luck and I hope you achieve all your goals!

Leave a Reply

