Highs of the week #9

Screen Shot 2015-01-17 at 19.04.30

So this week I’ve been exhausted. Like, really really tired. Gone is the ‘let’s do 2015’ attitude I adopted in the first few weeks of January. I’m still blogging and running lots and of course working the usual 9.30-6, but that spring in my step that you often get at the beginning of a new year is slowly starting to tire. I’ve had an exciting week though and I feel great things are just around the corner. The nights are slowly but surely getting lighter and next weekend I go away with my family and Joe for a much needed weekend of sport and spas (Center Parcs in case you didn’t guess already). I’ve been a wee bit selfish this week and avoided any sort of social activity, opting for bed at 10pm with a hot water bottle instead of seeing friends. But January is just a month for hibernation is it not? Aside from early nights here’s what else I’ve been loving this week.

Over the last week I’ve been into Boots almost every day, browsing the last few bits in the sale and picking up some much needed/wanted goodies. If I had a YouTube video I’d do a Drug Store Haul but I’ll save you the Northern waffling! I gave into the Beauty Blogging hype and purchased my first Real Techniques makeup brush, I chose the Expert Face Brush and so far I’m very impressed. I’m not sure if it’s actually intended for contouring but I find the small, firm brush is the perfect fit for faux cheekbones.

I also added a newbie to my Botanics collection in the form of their Mattifying Gel Cream, I love their night cream and this little pot of joy is the perfect pre-primer base. Shine free and the most delicious of scents.

After seeing this on Vivianna Does Makeup‘s blog I picked up the Maybelline New York Eraser Eye Concealer in the shade nude in the hope it would tackle my very stubborn blemishes. It really is just like a magic eraser and the perfect colour for my skin. Bye bye spots and thank you Anna!

The last treat in my Boots splurge is a product I wouldn’t have looked twice a few months ago, the Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick. Half gloss, half lipstick it applies like a gloss and sets like a lipstick. I picked the colour Hot Pepper and I love it! A great buy for anyone else who is new to lipstick like myself.

Boots haul aside, I’m currently obsessed with reading The Guardian Running Blog. It’s my go to website during my lunch break and gives me lots of tips and inspiration for my half marathon training. I bought a Lumie Light after reading this and hope to get some 6am runs under my belt over the next few weeks. (Look out for my Lumie Light in next week’s Highs because I have a feeling I’m going to love it).

Now y’all know I love a bath, I’m often spoiled for choice when it comes to my bubble bath but this Clarins Relax Bath & Shower Concentrate has recently become a firm favourite of mine. The smell is a tad unusual and I can imagine it’s not for everyone but the results are 10/10. My skin felts incredible after a good soaking in this and I always feel relaxed and ready for bed after using.

Lastly on my list is another running related treat. After a very helpful chat with a Nike.com expert last week I ordered two sets of running leggings in their sale. I bought the Nike Thermal Women’s Running Tights and the Nike Pro Women’s Training Tights. I’m so impressed with the feel and fit of these and I’m sure they’ve added miles and quickened my pace!

Have a lovely Sunday x

Leave a Reply

